La Banque Postale, 16 years of development:

La Banque Postale was created on 31 December 2005, via the legal transformation of Efiposte, an investment company established in 2000 to manage outstanding deposits held by La Poste, which also wanted to establish a banking subsidiary able to carry all customer deposits and loans on its balance sheet. Pursuant to Article 16 of aforementioned law no. 2005-516 of 20 May 2005, and to the decree for its enactment dated 30 August 2005, La Poste, which at the time had the legal form of an industrial and commercial public company (EPIC), transferred all the assets, rights and obligations relating to its financial services business to La Banque Postale, with effect from 31

December 2005. Investments in subsidiaries and affiliates were included in the transfer, with the exception of those that were required by La Poste for its directly managed businesses. As a result of these transactions, La Poste holds all of the capital of La Banque Postale (except for one share lent to the Chairman of the Supervisory Board).

The “postal” law of 1990 revised in 2010 entrusted La Poste with four public service missions, including the accessible banking mission fulfilled by its subsidiary, La Banque Postale. In application of Article L. 518-25-1 of the French Monetary and Financial Code, this mission is framed and described by two agreements signed with the State: the State/La Poste service agreement (2018-2022) and the State/LBP agreement (2015-2020). In this respect, La Banque Postale:

  • is required to open a Livret A passbook savings account free of charge for anyone who requests one, in accordance with the universal access principle;
  • authorises the use of Livret A accounts to receive payment of social welfare benefits and civil service pensions and to pay taxes, water, gas, and electricity bills, and subsidised housing rents by direct debit;
  • authorises withdrawals and deposits from and to the Livret A starting at €1.50.